I Could Love You Like The Sea

21 Sep

I could love you like the sea.

As mysterious

As wide,

As deep,

As vibrant,

As passionate

As the sea.

 

I could love you like the sea

Crafty

That snakes as rivers,

Streams,

And bubbling brooks do

Into land, mountain, and jungle.

 

I could love you like the sea

That is closest to the sky

In the water

That falls up

And comes down

In vapor and cloud

 

I could love you as the sea

That cradles your adventure,

Your myths,

Your tragedy,

Your stories.

 

I could love you like the sea

Where I am born and

Where I die,

Rhythmic and circular

Full and self-contained

As complete as life

More so than the scorched stars in heaven.

 

I could love you like the sea.

And even if they lay claim upon it.

Put borders on what could have no borders.

The sea

Is something they could never hope to control.

It rises against them

And seeks to be free.

And they will see,

That tsunamis and storms

Will sink even their guns

And it will defy and outlive

Empires.

 

I will love you like the sea.

 

Written on September 21, 2012

From the books of “To Felipe Asuncion”

Volume 2

3 Responses to “I Could Love You Like The Sea”

  1. Mathieu Rodrigues September 21, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    Melanie, I loved this poem! Didn’t know you actively wrote but I knew you had a ~poet’s soul~.

    • melaniedulfo October 9, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Thank you, Matthew.🙂 It’s more like practice. I’ve never really seriously asked folks to do a literary criticism on my work. So, I was trying to be brave.

  2. Herminia Sanchez September 22, 2012 at 1:53 am #

    I love it Mel!

Leave a Reply

